Second Inter­na­tional Confer­ence: Rethinking Liber­alism, Renewing Democracy

Foto: Imago Images

Liberal Democracy is under increasing pressure. At our Confer­ence “Rethinking Liber­alism, Renewing Democracy” on November 24th in Berlin and online we will discuss with Guests from academia, politics, think tanks and the economy how liber­alism and liberal democracy will have to develop to persist.

Mission

As a school of thought and political movement, liber­alism has long been an undis­puted success story. It has promoted democracy and the rule of law, free world trade and an active civil society. At its heart is the postulate of equal freedom for all, the normative idea of human rights, and an inter­na­tional order governed by law.

Around the world, liberal democracy is under increasing external pressure. Liberal and author­i­tarian regimes are asserting them­selves globally. Whether one looks to China or Russia, for the power elites in Beijing and Moscow, liberal democ­ra­cies are a model of yesterday — incapable of strategic politics, paralyzed by political polar­iza­tion and social frag­men­ta­tion. At the latest, the Russian war of aggres­sion on Ukraine makes it clear that we are in an esca­lating systemic compe­ti­tion between author­i­tarian regimes and liberal democracies.

There is a need to rethink liber­alism and renew democracy. We began this reflec­tion and conver­sa­tion last year at our first confer­ence. At our second confer­ence, we want to discuss issues of a new world order, a new role for the state, and the partic­i­pa­tion and effi­ciency of democracies.

Program

Our program is updated regularly. See the prelim­i­nary program below:

Speakers

We want to discuss these questions with you and many exciting guests.

Among them:

Thorsten Benner, GPPI Berlin

Tanja Börzel, Freie Univer­sität Berlin

Thomas Kleine-Brockhoff, The German Marshall Fund

Sabine Döring, Univer­sität Tübingen

Jan-Werner Müller, Princeton University

Jana Puglierien, European Council on Foreign Relations

Jan Schnel­len­bach, Bran­den­bur­gische Tech­nische Universität

Dieter Schnaas, Wirtschaftswoche

Gesine Schwan, Humboldt Gover­nance Platform

Karolina Wigura, Univer­sity of Warsaw,

Michael Zürn, Wissenschaft­szen­trum Berlin für Sozialforschung

It is sponsored by the ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius.

If you have any questions, please contact Rainald Manthe (rainald.manthe@libmod.de).

Retro­spec­tive: Rethinking-Confer­ence 2021

Textende

Did you like thike this article? If yes, you can support the inde­pen­dent editorial work and jour­nalism of LibMod via a simple donation tool.

We are recog­nized as a non-profit orga­ni­za­tion, accord­ingly donations are tax deductible. For a donation receipt (necessary for an amount over 200 EUR), please send your address data to finanzen@libmod.de

Related topics

Newsletter bestellen

Stay tuned with our regular newsletter about all our relevant subjects.

Mit unseren Daten­schutzbes­tim­mungen
erklären Sie sich einverstanden.

Second Inter­na­tional Confe­rence: Rethin­king Libe­ra­lism, Renewing Democracy

Wir laden Sie herzlich ein zur zweiten inter­na­tio­nalen Konferenz

Rethin­king Libe­ra­lism, Renewing Democracy

Wann? 24. November 2022

Wo? Berlin und online

For English version see here

Der Libe­ra­lismus war als Denk­schule und poli­ti­sche Bewegung lange Zeit eine unan­ge­foch­tene Erfolgs­ge­schichte. Er hat Demo­kratie und Rechts­staat, freien Welt­handel und eine aktive Bürger­ge­sell­schaft befördert. In seinem Zentrum steht das Postulat der gleichen Freiheit aller, die normative Idee der Menschen­rechte und eine durch das Recht geregelte inter­na­tio­nale Ordnung.

Weltweit steht die liberale Demo­kratie von außen zunehmend unter Druck. Iliberale und auto­ri­täre Regime treten global selbst­be­wusst auf. Ob man den Blick gen China oder Russland richtet, für die Macht­eliten in Peking und Moskau sind liberale Demo­kra­tien ein Modell von gestern – unfähig zu stra­te­gi­scher Politik, gelähmt durch poli­ti­sche Pola­ri­sie­rung und gesell­schaft­liche Frag­men­tie­rung. Spätes­tens der russische Angriffs­krieg auf die Ukraine macht deutlich, dass wir uns in einer sich zuspit­zenden System­kon­kur­renz zwischen auto­ri­tären Regimen und liberalen Demo­kra­tien befinden.

Es ist notwendig, den Libe­ra­lismus zu über­denken und die Demo­kratie zu erneuern. Auf unserer zweiten Konferenz wollen wir Fragen einer neuen Welt­ord­nung, einer neuen Rolle für den Staat  sowie der Parti­zi­pa­tion und Effizienz von Demo­kra­tien diskutieren.

Programm und Speaker:innen werden im Laufe der Zeit hier bekannt gegeben.

Die Konferenz wird auf Deutsch und Englisch statt­finden und simultan übersetzt. Sie wird von der ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius gefördert.

 

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an Rainald Manthe (rainald.manthe@libmod.de).

_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​_​

 

Textende

Hat Ihnen unser Beitrag gefallen? Dann spenden Sie doch einfach und bequem über unser Spen­den­tool. Sie unter­stützen damit die publi­zis­ti­sche Arbeit von LibMod.

Wir sind als gemein­nützig anerkannt, entspre­chend sind Spenden steu­er­lich absetzbar. Für eine Spen­den­be­schei­ni­gung (nötig bei einem Betrag über 200 EUR), senden Sie Ihre Adress­daten bitte an finanzen@libmod.de

 

Verwandte Themen

News­letter bestellen

Mit dem LibMod-News­letter erhalten Sie regel­mäßig Neuig­keiten zu unseren Themen in Ihr Postfach.

Mit unseren Daten­schutz­be­stim­mungen
erklären Sie sich einverstanden.